In Hindu Astrology there are nine planets or Grahas. These include Rahu and Ketu, which are astronomical points formed where the moon’s orbit intersects the apparent path of the Sun around the earth. Each planet is considered to be having masculine, feminine or neutral characteristics.

Planets and their equivalents in English

Graha English Name Sex
Ravi Sun Masculine
Chandra Moon Feminine
Kuja Mars Masculine
Budha Mercury Neutral
Guru Jupiter Masculine
Shukra Venus Feminine
Sani Saturn Neutral
Rahu Dragon Head Feminine
Ketu Dragon Tail Neutral

Rahu and Ketu

The Moon’s apparent path intersects the ellipse obliquely at two points called the nodes. The point where the Moon crosses the ecliptic from south to north is called the ascending node or Rahu, where it crosses the ecliptic from north to south is called descending node or Ketu. These two points are 180 degrees apart and their movement is constantly retrograde, meaning, against the normal direction of the movement of planets. Rahu and Ketu are given special status and considered as planets in Indian astrology. Rahu and Ketu take approximately eighteen years and ten days to complete one round of the zodiac.


The Zodiac is a band 18 degrees wide and placed obliquely to the equator. This band can be imagined running around the earth in an east-west direction. Groups of stars can be located along this imaginary belt. This belt is divided into twelve equal parts called Rasi. It is also divided into 27 parts and each part named after a star or group of stars located in the division


indepth horoscope
When a zodiac is divided into twelve equal parts, each such part has an extension of 30 degrees of arc. Such a division is called a sign or Rasi.

There are 12 houses of Rasi’s

No. Indian System Western System
1 Mesha Aries
2 Vrishabha Taurus
3 Mithuna Gemini
4 Karkata Cancer
5 Simha Leo
6 Kanya Virgo
7 Tula Libra
8 Vrischika Scorpio
9 Dhanu Sagittarius
10 Makara Capricorn
11 Kumbha Aquarius
12 Meena Pises

Lords of Houses

Each Rasi has a planet assigned to it as Lord of the House.

No. Lords of 12 Houses
1 Mesha Mangal or Kuja (Mars)
2 Vrishabha Shukra (Venus)
3 Mithuna Budha (Mercury)
4 Karkata Chandra (Moon)
5 Simha Surya (The Sun)
6 Kanya Budha (Mercury)
7 Tula Shukra(Venus)
8 Vrischika Kuja(Mars)
9 Dhanu Guru(Jupiter)
10 Makara Sani(Saturn)
11 Kumbha Sani(Saturn)
12 Meena Guru (Jupiter)

Exalted houses of Planets

Each planet has a point in the zodiac where it attains maximum strength. The houses where they have the maximum strength are called the houses of exaltation.

Planets and their exalted houses (Uchacha)

1 Ravi Mesha
2 Chandra Vrishabha
3 Kuja Makara
4 Budha Kanya
5 Simha Karkata
6 Shukra Meena
7 Sani Tula

Debilitated houses of planets

Each planet has a point in the zodiac where it has the minimum strength. The houses where the planets have the minimum strength are called the houses of debilitation.

Debilitated houses of Planets
1 Ravi Tula
2 Chandra Vrischika
3 Kuja Karkata
4 Budha Meena
5 Simha Makara
6 Shukra Kanya
7 Sani Mesha

Planetary relationship

Each planet considers another planet as friend, enemy or equal. Some relationships are not mutual, for example, while one planet considers another as a friend, the second planet, in turn, may not see the first one as a friend. Mercury and Moon are examples.

Planets Friends Equals Enemies
Sun Moon, Mars, Jupiter Mercury Venus, Sani, Rahu
Moon Sun, Mercury Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn Rahu
Mars Sun, Moon, Jupiter Venus, Saturn Mercury, Rahu
Mercury Sun, Venus, Rahu Mars, Jupiter, Saturn Moon
Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars Saturn, Rahu Mercury, Venus
Venus Mercury, Saturn, Rahu Jupiter, Mars Sun, Moon
Saturn Mercury, Venus, Rahu Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars
Rahu Mercury, Venus, Saturn Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars
Ketu Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Rahu Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars

Planets and gemstones

Each planet has a gem associated with it. The nine stones corresponding to the nine planets are called the Navaratna group of stones.

Planet Gem Stone
Ravi Ruby
Chandra Pearl
Kuja Coral
Budha Emerald
Guru Pushyaraga (Yellow Sapphire)
Shukra Diamond
Saturn Blue Sapphire
Rahu Gomed
Ketu Cat’s eye

Planets and their colours

Planet Gem Stone
Ravi Red
Chandra White
Kuja Red
Budha Green
Guru Yellow
Shukra White
Saturn Blue
Rahu Smoke
Ketu Smoke

Periods of stay of each planet in each sign

Planet Period of Stay
Sun 30 days
Moon 2 1/4 days
Mars 45 days
Mercury 30 days
Jupiter 1 year
Venus 30 days
Saturn 2 years and 6 months
Rahu 1 year and 6 months
Ketu 1 year and 6 months

Planets and their elements

Planets and their elements
Mercury stands for Earthly element
Sun Stands for Fiery element
Saturn stands for Airy element
Jupiter stands for Ethereal element
Venus & Moon stands for Watery element

Types of houses

Movable (Chara) Fixed (Sthira) Common (Dwiswabhava)
Mesha Vrishabha Mithuna
Karkata Simha Kanya
Tula Vrischika Dhanu
Makara Kumbha Meena
Natural benefics: Jupiter, Mercury, Venus and Waxing Moon Natural malefics: Saturn, Mars, Rahu, Ketu and Sun.

Characteristics Associated with Planets

Planets are associated with colour, metal, elements, grains, seasons etc. Also, they are believed to belong to certain caste and sex. These characteristics and associations are given in a table below.

Character Sun Moon Mars Mercury
Colour Copper White Red Green
Nature Sathwa Sathwa Thamas Rajas
Sex Male Female Male Eunuch(Female)
Caste Kshtriya Vysya Kshtriya Sudra
Element Fire Water Fire Earth
Diety Agni Varuna Subramanya Vishnu
Garment Thick New HalfBurnt Wet
Metal/material Copper Gems Gold Brass
Parts Bones Blood Marrow Skin
Grains Wheat Paddy Lentil GreenGram
Seasons Summer Winter Summer Autumn
Taste Pungent Salt Acidity Mixed
Residence Place of worship Springs Fire Play-ground
Temperament Bilious Phlegmatic Bilious Mixed

Character Jupiter Venus Saturn
Color Mixed Gold&Silver White/Yellow Blue/Black
Nature Sathwa Rajas Thamas
Sex Male Female Eunuch (Female)
Caste Brahman Brahman Chandala
Element Ether Water Air
Diety Indra Indrani Brahma
Garment Shabby Strong Rag
Metal/material Silver Diamond(Pearl) Iron(Lead)
Parts Flesh&Brain Semen Muscles
Grains BengalGram Beans Sesamin
Seasons Snow Spring All Seasons
Taste Sweet&Cool Sour Bitter & Astringent
Residence Store-house Bed-Chamber Dustbin
Temperament Phlegmatic Windy
&Phlegmatic Windy

in-depth horoscope