What makes Vedic astrology different and better than other fortune-telling methods, like Western astrology, is how precise and accurate it can be in making predictions. The way it predicts things involves some complicated maths, but there’s also a simple way that works really well and should be kept in mind when looking at someone’s astrological chart.

In Vedic astrology, it’s said that planets and houses have a certain time in a person’s life when they have the most impact. Planets are especially important here. When a planet reaches its maturity age, it has the most power to bring about what it promises in the chart. This is a crucial prediction method and can often be astonishingly accurate. Sometimes, just knowing a person’s age without looking at their chart can give you a good idea of what’s going on in their life and how that planet related to their age is influencing their chart. This influence lasts until the next planet matures.

Properties of each planet.

Sun (Surya):

Signification: self, ego, vitality, power, government, leadership, father.
Positive attributes: authority, confidence, creativity, and ambition.
Negative Attributes: Arrogance, stubbornness, and dominance

Moon (Chandra):

Signification: mind, emotions, mother, nurturing, and the public.
Positive Attributes: Emotional intelligence, sensitivity, intuition, and adaptability
Negative Attributes: Moodiness, fickleness, and emotional instability

Mars (Mangal):

Signification: energy, action, courage, siblings, and determination.
Positive attributes: drive, ambition, courage, and physical strength.
Negative Attributes: Aggression, impulsiveness, and conflict

Mercury (Budha):

Signification: communication, intellect, learning, education, and business.
Positive attributes: intelligence, curiosity, wit, and adaptability.
Negative Attributes: Restlessness, inconsistency, and nervousness

Jupiter (Guru):

Signification: wisdom, knowledge, expansion, spirituality, and blessings.
Positive Attributes: Wisdom, generosity, guidance, and optimism
Negative Attributes: Exaggeration, self-righteousness, and overindulgence

Venus (Shukra):

Signification: love, beauty, relationships, creativity, and luxury.
Positive Attributes: artistic talent, sensuality, charm, and grace
Negative Attributes: Indulgence, superficiality, and over-attachment

Saturn (Shani):

Signification: discipline, responsibility, obstacles, karma, and career.
Positive attributes: patience, perseverance, discipline, and long-term planning.
Negative Attributes: Limitation, delay, and hardship


Signification: ambition, desire, obsession, and unconventional pursuits.
Positive attributes: ambition, innovation, and courage to take risks.
Negative Attributes: Delusion, confusion, and uncontrolled desires


Signification: spirituality, detachment, mysticism, and past-life experiences.
Positive Attributes: Intuition, Detachment, and Spiritual Growth
Negative Attributes: Confusion, isolation, and detachment from reality.

Until the planet reaches maturity, there will be struggles in the matters indicated by the planets.

Here are the ages when each planet reaches its peak maturity:

  • Jupiter is at its peak from ages 15 to 20 (with 16 being the peak).
  • Sun matures at age 22.
  • Moon matures at age 24.
  • Venus reaches its peak between ages 25 and 27 (with 25 being the peak).
  • Mars matures at age 28 (with 28 being the peak).
  • Mercury matures at age 32 (with 32 being the peak).
  • Saturn matures at age 36 (with 36 being the peak).
  • Rahu matures at age 42 (with 42 being the peak).
  • Ketu matures at age 48 (with 48 being the peak).
For example, when Jupiter matures at age 16, it often brings special opportunities, wealth, or higher learning, depending on what Jupiter signifies in the chart. The same goes for other planets at their maturity ages.jupiter-transit-popup-mobile

If a planet in the chart is not well placed, when it reaches maturity, its negative traits can manifest fully. For instance, if Saturn is poorly positioned in the 4th house of a person’s chart at age 36, they might face emotional crises or property issues. Saturn’s negative traits, like obstacles and financial problems, will be prominent.

When the planet reaches maturity, the native will be able to handle the attributes of these planets. For example, when the sun reaches maturity, the native will come to know how to handle his father.

Jupiter, which influences our ability to have children and our beliefs, becomes important around age 16. This is when the female body matures enough to have kids and when we start forming our lifelong belief system. It’s a crucial time for our outlook on life and understanding reality.

The sun in your horoscope represents independence, and many cultures see 21 as the age of full independence. At this point, you can build your reputation, be creative, and make an impact on the world.

Emotional maturity comes around age 24 when the moon matures, giving us a better handle on our emotions and emotional intelligence.

Venus matures between ages 24 and 25. During this time, significant developments in relationships occur. If your Venus is strong in your birth chart, you might meet an important partner. Otherwise, you might learn important lessons about relationships.

Mars matures between ages 27 and 28. Before this, you might lack initiative and control over your willpower. People with challenging Mars placements can face accidents or sudden life changes during this period. However, those with a strong Mars can become more assertive and take important initiatives.

Mercury matures between ages 31 and 32. This is when you gain new skills and learn to manage, organize, plan, communicate, and write. Important changes in friendships or relationships with siblings can also happen.

Saturn matures between ages 35 and 36, bringing important life lessons about endurance, perseverance, responsibility, and overcoming challenges. This marks the transition into full adulthood.

Rahu, the north node of the moon, matures between ages 41 and 42. This is when significant changes occur in the area of life represented by Rahu’s position in your birth chart. Before this, Rahu can bring ups and downs, but after maturation, you gain better control over Rahu’s energy and make progressive life changes.

Ketu, the south node of the moon, matures between ages 47 and 48. During this time, you learn to let go of expectations and become more detached. This allows you to manifest positive changes in the area of life influenced by Ketu in your chart as you stop caring too much and accept things as they are.

Houses in the chart also mature at certain ages:

  • The 9th House matures from ages 1 to 24.
  • 10th House matures at ages 25 and 26.
  • 11th House matures at ages 27 and 28.
  • 12th House matures at ages 29 and 30.
  • 1st House matures from ages 31 to 33.
  • The 2nd House matures from ages 34 to 36.
  • The 3rd House matures from ages 37 to 39.
  • The 4th House matures from ages 40 to 45.
  • The 5th House matures from ages 46 to 51.
  • The 6th House matures from ages 52 to 57.
  • The 7th House matures from ages 58 to 65.
  • 8th House matures from age 66 onwards.
During these times, the house’s effects become more prominent in a person’s life. For example, from ages 1 to 24, the 9th house influences a person’s outlook and life direction. As one matures, different houses take centre stage in shaping one’s experiences, leading to a better understanding of life’s mysteries in later years.

in-depth horoscope