Planets and Zodiac

The Stars and Planets influence your life right from the time of your birth! The way they influence your life is based on their relative positions in the sky at the time of your birth. Every life on the Earth has an astrological design which can be studied to know about its character and destiny. Every zodiac has a ruling planet. A detailed examination of 12 houses sheds light on all spheres of your life. Thus, you can know about your education, career, marriage, family life, health etc

Get FREE Horoscope and know about your destiny

Astrological Terminology

Trines: The 5th, 9th and the 1st houses from the Lagna. Upachaya: The 3rd, 6th, 10th and 11th houses from a sign.

indepth horoscope
Vakra (Retrograde): Planets that do not move in the regular order of signs. Rahu and Ketu always move in the reverse direction and
therefore always in Vakra. Planets Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn appear to reverse their motion, observed from the earth, during certain periods. They get back to the regular motion after a while. These planets when they apparently move in the reverse direction are considered to be in Vakra or Retrograde.

Vedha: A Vedha planet is one that prevents or cuts off the benefic or malefic effects manifested by another planet.

Vernal and Autumnal Equinox: The Vernal Equinox and Autumnal Equinox, occurring about March 21 and September 21, are the only two days in a year when day and night are of equal length. The Autumnal signs are Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius and the Vernal signs are Aries, Taurus and Gemini. At each equinox, day and night are of equal length. To set out for any venture at the time of the equinox is believed to be inauspicious with disastrous results.

Vargothama: Planet in the same house, both in Rasi and Navamsa. A Lagna if it is of the same sign both in Rasi and Navamsa is called Vargothama Lagna.

planets in birth chart

Recal: The horoscope at birth from which the past, present and future are determined. It is otherwise called Lagna.

Quadrants: The 4th, 7th and 10th and 1st houses from any sign or Lagna.

Paksha: The fortnight during which, as the Moon revolves in its orbit, the bright part increases till the full Moon when the whole of the illuminated disk is towards us, is called Sukla Paksha. The next fortnight during which its bright side slowly diminishes and it comes into conjunction with the Sun forms Krishna Paksha.

Sukla means white and Sukla Paksha is the period when the Moon is waxing.

Krishna means dark and the Krishna Paksha is the period when the Moon is waning.

Tithi: A tithi is a day of the Moon. Tithis are 15 in number reckoned from New Moon day to next Full Moon or from the Full Moon to the New Moon. The 1st day i.e., the day following the New Moon or the Full Moon is called Prathama, 2nd Dhwitiya, 3rd Tritiya, 4th Chaturthi, 5th Panchami, 6th Shashti, 7th Saptami, 8th Ashtami, 9th Navami, 10th Dasami, 11 th Ekadasi, 12th Dwadasi, 13th Trayodasi, 14th Chaturdasi.

Tarabla: If we have to assess whether a day’s star is good or bad to us, we have to count from our star to the day’s star and divide it by 9. The balance of the number indicates the result. They are called as follows :

No. Result
1 Janma
2 Sampath
3 Vipath
4 Kshema
5 Prathyak
6 Sadhak
7 Vadha
8 Mithra
9 Param Mitra
Good Stars are 2,4,6 and 9

gemstone recommendation

Deities symbolising the planets and herbs

The following table shows the degree of the main exaltation of the different planets.

Planets Diety Herbs
Sun Siva Arka Plant
Moon Gowri Palasa Plant
Mars Kartika Khadhra
Mercury Vishnu Apamarga
Jupiter Dakshina Murthy The fig tree (peepal tree)
Venus Lakshmi Audumbara
Saturn Sastra Vanhi (Shami or Banyan tree)
Rahu Ganesha Darbha (Kusha)

Horoscopic Directions

  1. 1st House stands for East
  2. 7th House stands for West
  3. 4th House stands for South
  4. 10th House stands for North

Malefics, Benefics, Death inflictors and Raja Yoga giver for 12 Rasis and Lagna

Lagna Malefics Benefics Death Planets Rajayoga Karakas
Mesha Sat, Mar, Ven Sun, Jup Mer, Ven Sat
Vrishaba Jup, Ven, Moon Sat, Sun Jup, Ven Moon Sat
Mithuna Mar, Jup Ven Mar, Sun, Moon Ven
Karkataka Ven, Sat, Mer Jup, Mar Ven, Sat, Mer Mar
Leo Sun, Mer, Ven Jup, Mer, Ven Sat, Ven Mar
Kanya Jup, Moon Ven, Mer, Mar Jup, Moon, Sun Ven, Mer
Thula Sun, Jup, Mar Sat, Moo, Mer Jup, Sun Sat
Vrischika Mer, Ven, Sat Jup, Sun, Moon Mer, Ven, Sat Sun, Moon
Dhanus Sat, Ven Mar, Ven Ven, Moon, Mer Sun, Mer
Makara Mar, Jup, Moon Vem, Mer Mar, Jup Ven
Kumbha Mar, Jup, Moon Ven Mar, Jup, Moon Mar, Ven
Meena Ven, Sat, Sun, Mer Moon, Mar Sat, Ven, Sun, Mer Sat, Jup
Saptha Rishis: Marachi, Athri, Angiras, Agasthya, Balaha, Krathu and Vasishta are considered to be the seven Gurus (masters) of Vedic India.

Strength of planets during day and night

Moon, Saturn, Mars are strong during night times.
Sun, Jupiter, Venus are strong during day times.
Mercury is strong during the day as well as night times.

Important Sanskrit works to be consulted for mastery over the subject

Important Sanskrit Authors. Vasista, Narada, Sakthi, Parashara, Vyasa, Vishnugupta, Vavana, Devala, Maya, Jaimini, Manitha, Satyaacharya, Jivasharma, Maudaya.

No. Work No. Work
1 Kalamrita 16 Daivagna Vilana
2 Sarvatha Chintamani 17 Horapradpika
3 Manasagari 18 Suryasiddanta
4 Mahurtha Darpana 19 Navanitarnava
5 Gopalarathnakara 20 Parashara Hora
6 Saravali 21 Daivagna Bhushana
7 Nakshathra 22 Jathaka Thathwa
8 Jinendra Mala 23 Jathaka Parijatha
9 Ududasha Pradipika 24 Jathaka Adashamarga
10 Jathakalankara 25 Brihat Jathaka
11 Yogavali 26 Horashara
12 Jathakakalanithi 27 Krishna Misriya
13 Karale 28 Phaladeepika
14 Jathakachandrika 29 Uttarakalamrita
15 Daivagni Bharana

in-depth horoscope