Planets and Significators

Astrological terminology

Some of the astrological terms are defined below.

Dasa : The rising sign at the time of birth which is called Lagna or Radical.
Apoklima : The 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12 th houses from the rising sign.
Ayanas : Uttarayana and Dhakshinayana are the two periods of sixmonths each into which Hindu Astrological year is divided. The former denotes the period when the sun is in the Northern Circle between Capricorn to Cancer. The latter is the period when the Sun is in Southern Circle between Cancer and Capricorn.
Athichara (Acceleration) : The movement of a planet faster than its mean velocity.
Common Signs : Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.
Conjunction : The location of two or more planets in the same longitude. Conjunctions is very powerful if the planets are in the same degree and minute.
Dignities : A planet is dignified when it occupies its own house, Its moolatrikona or Exaltation,aspected by a benefic, unaspected by a malefic, when it is not retrograde and when it is increasing in light.
Fixed Signs : Taurus, Scorpio and Aquarius.
Janma Nakshatra : The asterism ruled by the Moon at the time of birth of a person.
Gochara : The configuration of planets at any given time.
Degrees of main Exaltation of Planets
The following table shows the degree of main exaltation of the different planets

Planet Exaltation Sign Degree of main Exaltation
Sun Aries 10
Moon Taurus 3
Mars Capricorn 28
Mercury Virgo 15
Jupiter Cancer 5
Venus Pisces 27
Saturn Libra 20

Planets and Significators

Planet Significators
Sun Soul of Atma or Eye
Moon Mind, Intellectuality
Mars Physical Courage and Strength
Mercury Speech and power of eloquence
Jupiter Wisdom or Vedic Knowledge and Gnana
Saturn Sorrow and Misery

Planetary Characteristics (Karakathwas)

Planet Characteristics
Sun Royal Cast, fond of hot things, shoulders, bold, status, temples, father, soul fame, red colour.
Moon Intelligent ,stout body, sweet speech, phlegmatic, mother,gems, mind water, saltish white colour.
Mars Bold, Capricious, advantageous, fiery places, brothers and sisters, servants, red colour, military science.
Mercury Witty , Flexible nature, prudent, cunning, good speech, knowledge, handsome countenance, green colour, intelligence, learning.
Jupiter Stout body, gold colour, charitable, priesthood, children charitable, treasure, yellow colour,honour, wisdom.
Venus Sexual pleasure, luxuries of life, charming ladies, wealth,vehicle, sour taste.
Saturn Dark colour ,tall,large teeth, windy constitution, cruel, vindictive,lazy, death, acid taste.
Rahu Tanks, cultivation, rest houses and maternal grand-father.
Ketu Grand parents, griefs,emancipation or moksham

Duration of each house or Lagna

Ascendant in a day differ from place to place. Duration of each house for South India is given as an example:

House Duration
Mesha 1 hr 36 min
Libra 2 hr 6 min.
Vrishaba 1 hr 48 min
Scorpio 3 hr 12 min.
Mithuna 2 hr 6 min
Dhanus 2 hr 12 min
Kataka 2 hr 12 min
Makara 2 hr 6 min.
Simha 2 hr 6 min.
Kumbha 1 hr 46 min
Virgo 2 hr 6 min.
Meena 1 hr 36 min.

Planetary Results

indepth horoscope
Planets in their exalted house give full results. Planets in their own and moolathrikonas gives 3/4 results. Planets in their friendly signs give 1/2 good results. Planets in their unfriendly signs give 1/4 good results. Planets in their debilitated signs do not give any good.

Time One Vigati – 24 seconds 2 1/2 Vigatis – 1 minute. One Ghatika – 24 minutes 2 1/2 Ghatikas -1 hour. 60 Ghatikas – A day of 24 hours.

The duration of the planetary Dasha periods

Planet Dasa Period
Sun 6 years
Moon 10 years
Mars (Kuja) 7 years
Rahu 18 years
Jupiter(Guru) 16 years
Saturn(Sani) 19 years
Mercury(Budha) 17 years
Ketu 7 years
Venus 20 years

Asthangatha or Setting of Planet

If a planet is located within a particular degree from the sun becomes asthangatha or the planet becomes set. It can only raise when it goes away from the Sun behind their respective degrees.

Moon becomes asthangatha within 12 degrees from the Sun. Mercury becomes asthangatha within 17 degrees from the Sun. Mercury (when retrograde) within 12 degrees from the Sun.Jupiter becomes asthangatha within 11 degrees from the Sun. Venus becomes asthangatha within 10 degrees from the Sun. Saturn becomes asthangatha within 15 degress from the Sun.

in-depth horoscope