Pancha-Pakshi Shastra

Pancha Pakshi Shastra is based on ancient literature in the Tamil language. The term “Pancha Pakshi” signifies five birds. This custom is based on the five elements and defines how the state of elements changes influencing every individual. The Pancha Pakshi system divides all individuals into five different kinds of elements and symbolically represents them with a birth. The birds are then in synchronization with a particular element and change state according to a complex system. Pancha Pakshi Shastra is not to be confused with the “Pakshi Shastra” which is practiced by nomads in India where they use a parrot to pick a card from a deck to predict the future.

It won’t be wrong to say that the Pancha Pakshi system shows great resemblance to the Pancha Bhuta system. The Pancha Bhuta aka the Five elements of the Vedic astrology represented by five birds influences and controls all the actions of human beings.

All these five pullu birds are unique in their way, take their turns in a special sequence and radiate their powers during day and night. The power that takes effect first on a day or night and the sequence that follows depends on the day of the week and the Paksha (waxing half or waning half cycles) of the Moon.

The Pancha Pakshi is a down to earth practical system, which can be applied with an advantage for all matters in day to day life and by individuals from all walks of life. It allows the individuals to lead a successful life with complete gratification, both in mental, physical and even in spiritual planes.

Pancha Pakshi is widely popular in the Hindu tradition as well. Indian astrologers recognize 27 forms of constellations in the entire moon trajectory. Each is known as a lunar mansion and these are considered to be of great practical consequence based on their good and bad effects as known by the astrologers. The influence of each is calculated not only at the time of the birth of an individual but during his/her entire lifetime.

Get Your Free Wealth Prediction by Date of Birth and Time

The position of the moon in the Nakshatras at that moment defines and regulates the occurrence of an event that affects each individual separately. The birth star, Nakshatra, and lunar position of each individual is unique, that defines his/her name. Hindus also consider the influence of Nakshatras during auspicious moments like birth, marriage, and even during difficult times. Your good day and bad days are defined as per the position of the lunar body.

Get Your Free Marriage Prediction 

Out of the Pancha Pakshi, each individual is assigned one bird as the controlling power based on the birth star of the person and the Paksha of the moon at the time of birth. The five birds are:

  • Vulture
  • Owl
  • Crow
  • Cock
  • Peacock
Identifying whether a given moment is lucky for you or not can be achieved by understanding and knowing the activity of the main bird and the sub-bird at a given point of time and the relationship they have with each other. The concept of Pancha Pakshi Shastra is widely popular in the Southern regions of India especially Tamil Nadu.

Each of the five pullu pakshi engages in either of the 5 activities namely:

  • Ruling
  • Eating
  • Walking
  • Sleeping
  • Dying
Out of these five activities, Ruling is the most powerful one, while Dying signifies the least powerful state.

The following table defines the bird under which a given individual is placed based on the Nakshatram or the lunar mansion (the Pakshas) which is clearly defined in the Panchangam of the Indian calendar. It has five components namely, the Tithi, the Varam, the Nakshatram, the Yogam, and the Karanam.

Each month is divided into two lunar cycles of 15 days each. If we talk about the Pakshas of the moon, they are of two types i.e. the Shukla Paksha and the Krishna Paksha. In the first half cycle aka the Shukla Paksha, the moon increases its size until it reaches its max i.e., the Full Moon on Purnima. On the contrary, Krishna Paksha involves the minimizing cycle of the Moon until it reaches the state of Amavasya.

Similarly, you can identify the Birth star of the individual by analyzing the longitude of the Moon and the Nakshatram. These are 27 in count from Ashwini to Revati and by studying the same, you can determine your Nakshatra Pakshi.

Once you know the Birth Star (Nakshatra) and the Paksha you can find your Nakshatra Pakshi (Bird) from the following chart.

Star Birth in Suklapaksha Birth in Krishnapaksha
1 Aswini Vulture Peacock
2 Bharani Vulture Peacock
3 Krittika Vulture Peacock
4 Rohini Vulture Peacock
5 Mrigasira Vulture Peacock
6 Ardra Owl Cock
7 Punarvasu Owl Cock
8 Pushya Owl Cock
9 Ashlesha Owl Cock
10 Makha Owl Cock
11 Purvaphalguni Owl Cock
12 Uttaraphalguni Crow Crow
13 Hasta Crow Crow
14 Chitra Crow Crow
15 Swati Crow Crow
16 Vishakha Crow Crow
17 Anuradha Cock Owl
18 Jyeshta Cock Owl
19 Moola Cock Owl
20 Poorvashada Cock Owl
21 Uttarashada Cock Owl
22 Shravana Peacock Vulture
23 Dhanishta Peacock Vulture
24 Satabhisha Peacock Vulture
25 Poorvabhadra Peacock Vulture
26 Uttarabhadra Peacock Vulture
27 Revati Peacock Vulture

Each of these 5 bird’s rules on certain days of the week. The days ruled by your bird are considered lucky for you, while the days that represent the dying state for your bird are known to be unfavorable. So, to minimize losses, it’s best if you avoid taking any important decisions these days. The ruling days and death days also depend on the Paksha of the day you are considering for an activity. While death days of a bird are the same for the day as well as night, the ruling days are different for day and night.

The following chart shows the ruling and death days:

During Shukla Paksha

Bird       Death Days                                   Ruling days
   Daytime    Nighttime
Vulture Thursday, Saturday Sunday, Tuesday Friday
Owl Sunday, Friday Monday, Wednesday Saturday
Crow Monday Thursday Sunday, Tuesday
Cock Tuesday Friday Monday, Wednesday
Peacock Wednesday Saturday Thursday
During Krishna-Paksa

Bird Death Days                                   Ruling days
    Daytime     Nighttime
Vulture Tuesday Friday Sunday, Tuesday
Owl Monday Thursday Wednesday
Crow Sunday Wednesday Thursday
Cock Thursday, Saturday Sunday, Tuesday Monday, Saturday
Peacock Wednesday, Friday Monday, Saturday Friday
Each day of 12 hours is further divided into five equal portions and given to different activities of the birds. Within each portion, the time is further allocated to other birds called apahara birds and their activities. The duty cycles follow a complex and intricate logic of Pancha Pakshi Shastra. One can select the best suitable time during a day or night using detailed charts based on Pancha Paskshi Shastra. Astro-Vision will soon bring these to you through our website for the benefit of all our members.

The Pancha Pakshi Shastra is not to be confused with ‘Pakshi Shastra’ practiced by nomads in India where they use a parrot to pick a card from a deck to predict the future.

in-depth horoscope