Astrology is the study of movements of planets that influence an individual’s life based on the time of birth, planetary positions and movements of the planets measured against the position of the Sun. Hindu or Vedic astrology is commonly termed as Jyotisha or Jyotish Shastra. The nine planets in astrology that rule the birth chart in a horoscope are: The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu – wherein, Rahu and Ketu are upper and lower nodes of the moon and others are planets. The significance, importance & role of each planet in life is elaborated in brief below in terms of Vedic Astrology.

Moon, Venus, Jupiter and Mercury are the most important planets in astrology and are considered as benefic planets- whereas, the remaining planets Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu are considered as malefic planets.

Find your future now!

Planets in Astrology – Part 1:Sun, Moon, Venus, Jupiter, Mercury

Sun: The Planet of Ego and sense of self

indepth horoscope
Sun is the king of all planets. If the Sun is strong in a horoscope, the individual is very energetic and attractive. The planet dominates external parts of the body from the head to the mouth and all other inner parts including the bone. The objects related to the Sun are rubies, gold, blood, cloth, father, mountain, forest area, soul, body, light, etc.

Moon: The Planet of emotions and feelings

According to Vedic Astrology, the moon is the soul and emotions of an individual. Moon dominates external parts of the body from the throat to the heart and the internal parts such as the blood. Qualities related to Moon are mother, mind, silver, earth and other material things related to them.

Get your free daily horoscope

Venus: The Planet of Love and Beauty

Venus is a feminine planet in astrology.

According to Vedic astrology, Venus expresses the feeling of love & desire. Venus is the ruler of various aspects in a native’s chart such as the prospect of marriage, marital happiness and harmony in relationships.

Venus influences characteristics such as the liking for gold, silver, luxury, clothing, makeup, fragrance, flowers, and other factors about beauty. It rules prosperity, wealth and pleasures and all kinds of art, say, music, painting, acting, drama, cinema, entertainment, etc.

Jupiter: The planet of abundance, generosity, and wisdom

Jupiter is the auspicious male planet in astrology and considered as the teacher.

According to Vedic Astrology, it represents knowledge and intelligence achieved through its own strength and discipline. Jupiter influences an individual’s attributes related to studies, higher education and teaching, yoga, the universities, institutions, understanding of right and wrong deeds, charity, wisdom, good qualities, goodwill, and good luck, etc.

Jupiter is intelligent, but not impetuous; rather it is calm as a saint. Jupiter bestows soulful joy, hope and progress in life. In a horoscope, the planet dominates influences fat in body, physicality, diseases caused by over-eating, etc.

Know more about Jupiter Transit Predictions

Mercury: The Planet of Intelligence, Communication, and information

Mercury is related to the senses as well as intelligence and communication. Mercury is considered to be ruling intelligence and knowledge. An individual’s profession related to his/her mental ability, say, mathematics, accountancy, commission-based businesses, politics, etc. are associated with Mercury. This planet in horoscope dominates communication, mutilation, discouragement, speed and (uninterrupted flow in speaking), hesitation and it is also responsible for the occurrence of skin diseases.

Part 2: Mars, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu

in-depth horoscope