Login / Register

Subscribe now and receive free articles and updates instantly.
Your name Your Email

titles description    advance search
Published : December 17, 2009 | Author : Dr. T. S. Vasan
Category : Indian astrology | Total Views : 4573 | Rating :

Dr. T. S. Vasan

Planets and Significators

Astrological terminology

Some of the astrological terms are defined below.

Dasa : The rising sign at the time of birth which is called Lagna or Radical.

Apoklima : The 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12 th houses from the rising sign.

Ayanas : Uttarayana and Dhakshinayana are the two periods of sixmonths each into which Hindu Astrological year is divided. The former denotes the period when the sun is in the Northern Circle between Capricorn to Cancer. The latter is the period when the Sun is in Southern Circle between Cancer and Capricorn.

Athichara (Acceleration) : The movement of a planet faster than its mean velocity.

Common Signs : Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.

Conjunction : The location of two or more planets in the same longitude. Conjunctions is very powerful if the planets are in the same degree and minute.

Dignities : A planet is dignified when it occupies its own house, Its moolatrikona or Exaltation,aspected by a benefic, unaspected by a malefic, when it is not retrograde and when it is increasing in light.

Fixed Signs : Taurus, Scorpio and Aquarius.

Janma Nakshatra : The asterism ruled by the Moon at the time of birth of a person.

Gochara : The configuration of planets at any given time.

Degrees of main Exaltation of Planets

The following table shows the degree of main exaltation of the different planets

Planet ExaltationSign Degree of main Exaltation
Sun Aries10
Moon Taurus3
Mars Capricorn28
Mercury Virgo15
Jupiter Cancer5
Venus Pisces27
Saturn Libra20

Planets and Significators

SunSoul of Atma or Eye
MoonMind, Intellectuality
MarsPhysical Courage and Strength
MercurySpeech and power of eloquence
JupiterWisdom or Vedic Knowledge and Gnana
SaturnSorrow and Misery

Planetary Characteristics (Karakathwas)

SunRoyal Cast, fond of hot things, shoulders, bold, status, temples, father, soul fame, red colour.
MoonIntelligent ,stout body, sweet speech, phlegmatic, mother,gems, mind water, saltish white colour.
MarsBold, Capricious, advantageous, fiery places, brothers and sisters, servants, red colour, military science.
MercuryWitty , Flexible nature, prudent, cunning, good speech, knowledge, handsome countenance, green colour, intelligence, learning.
JupiterStout body, gold colour, charitable, priesthood, children charitable, treasure, yellow colour,honour, wisdom.
VenusSexual pleasure, luxuries of life, charming ladies, wealth,vehicle, sour taste.
SaturnDark colour ,tall,large teeth, windy constitution, cruel, vindictive,lazy, death, acid taste.
RahuTanks, cultivation, rest houses and maternal grand-father.
KetuGrand parents, griefs,emancipation or moksham.

Duration of each house or Lagna

Ascendant in a day differ from place to place. Duration of each house for South India is given as an example:

Mesha1 hr 36 min
Libra2 hr 6 min.
Vrishaba1 hr 48 min
Scorpio3 hr 12 min.
Mithuna2 hr 6 min
Dhanus2 hr 12 min
Kataka2 hr 12 min
Makara2 hr 6 min.
Simha2 hr 6 min.
Kumbha1 hr 46 min
Virgo2 hr 6 min.
Meena1 hr 36 min.

Planetary Results

Planets in their exalted house give full results. Planets in their own and moolathrikonas gives 3/4 results. Planets in their friendly signs give 1/2 good results. Planets in their unfriendly signs give 1/4 good results. Planets in their debilitated signs do not give any good.

Time One Vigati - 24 seconds 2 1/2 Vigatis - 1 minute. One Ghatika - 24 minutes 2 1/2 Ghatikas -1 hour. 60 Ghatikas - A day of 24 hours.

The duration of the planetary Dasha periods

PlanetDasa Period
Sun6 years
Moon10 years
Mars (Kuja)7 years
Rahu18 years
Jupiter(Guru)16 years
Saturn(Sani)19 years
Mercury(Budha)17 years
Ketu7 years
Venus20 years

Asthangatha or Setting of Planet

If a planet is located within a particular degree from the sun becomes asthangatha or the planet becomes set. It can only raise when it goes away from the Sun behind their respective degrees.

Moon becomes asthangatha within 12 degrees from the Sun. Mercury becomes asthangatha within 17 degrees from the Sun. Mercury (when retrograde) within 12 degrees from the Sun.Jupiter becomes asthangatha within 11 degrees from the Sun. Venus becomes asthangatha within 10 degrees from the Sun. Saturn becomes asthangatha within 15 degress from the Sun.

1 2 3 4 5
please rate this article     Poor
Most viewed articles in Indian astrology category

Karana and Their Effects on People and Their Personality
An Introduction to Tithis and their Effects on Personalities
The Hindu Calendar and General Characteristics of People Born in a Particular Year
Introduction to Pancha-Pakshi Shastra and How to Find Your Bird
Astrology and Profession
Most recent articles in Indian astrology category

Mars Reloaded
The After Effects of Solar Eclipse
Astrology and Profession
New Year Gifting Ideas for Zodiac Signs
The Hindu Calendar and General Characteristics of People Born in a Particular Year

 Visitor's Comments !

there are no comments...

  Random Pick
This is the time during which the difference of the increment of longitude of the Sun and the Moon amounts to 12. Each Tithi or Lunar day is equal to 0.9483 of a day so that a lunar month, when the Moon completes a 360 degree rotation is equal to about 29.53 days.
full story | send to friend

Astro-Vision Futuretech Pvt. Ltd.2010  Delete cookies set by this site | Top   
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});