Login / Register

Subscribe now and receive free articles and updates instantly.
Your name Your Email

titles description    advance search
Published : December 17, 2009 | Author : Dr. T. S. Vasan
Category : Indian astrology | Total Views : 5410 | Rating :

Dr. T. S. Vasan
Dr. T. S. Vasan is a renowned name in the stream of Vedic Astrology for several decades. He is a professional astrologer as well as a research scholar, having authored several books on astrology and palmistry. Presently, he serves in the position of Vice President of Indian Council of Astrological Sciences (ICAS) founded by Dr. B. V. Raman.

Directional Strength of Planets

Directional strength of Planets:

Birth or Ascendant denotes East direction in any horoscope. Here Jupiter and Mercury are powerful and get their directional strength(digbala).

10th house in any horoscope from the ascendant represents South direction and here Mars and Sun will become very strong and have their directional strength.

7th house in any horoscope represent West direction. There Saturn becomes powerful and gets directional strength.

The respective planets in the opposite houses shown above will loose their directional strength.

Planetary strength according to time: Moon, Mars and Saturn are powerful during nights. Mercury is always powerful. Sun, Jupiter and Venus are strong during day times.

General strength of planets (from strongest to weakest) can be listed as Sun, Moon, Venus, Jupiter, Mercury, Mars & Saturn.

Rahu and Ketu give results according the houses they occupy and their lords.


If a planet is within 5 degree of the Sun, it is considered to be really combust. If it is within 20 degrees it is in ordinary combustion. If the planet is within 15 degrees, it is in nominal combustion. Planets in combustion give malefic results.

Planetary Natures

Sun, Jupiter and Moon are divine planets and they have Saatwika character. Venus and Mercury are Rajasa by nature. Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu are Thamasa or dark and gloomy in nature.

36 Limbs of Human body

A zodiac sign or Rasi of 30 degrees is divided into three Drekkanas (Decante) of 10 degrees each. So in total, there are 36 Drekkanas spread over the 12 Rasis. The limbs and organs of the human body are associated to these Drekkanas as given in the following table.

Rasi No.First
Second DrekkanaThird
2Right EyeRight ShoulderGenerative Organ
3Right EarRight ArmRight Testicle
4Right NostrilRight SideRight Thigh
5Right CheekRight HeartRight Knee
6Right JawRight ChestRight Calf
8Left JawLeft ChestLeft Calf
9Left CheekLeft HeartLeft Knee
10Left NostrilLeft SideLeft Thigh
11Left EarLeft ArmLeft Testicle
12Left EyeLeft ShoulderArms

1 2 3 4 5
please rate this article     Poor
Most viewed articles in Indian astrology category

Karana and Their Effects on People and Their Personality
An Introduction to Tithis and their Effects on Personalities
The Hindu Calendar and General Characteristics of People Born in a Particular Year
Introduction to Pancha-Pakshi Shastra and How to Find Your Bird
Astrology and Profession
Most recent articles in Indian astrology category

Mars Reloaded
The After Effects of Solar Eclipse
Astrology and Profession
New Year Gifting Ideas for Zodiac Signs
The Hindu Calendar and General Characteristics of People Born in a Particular Year

 Visitor's Comments !

there are no comments...

  Random Pick
India became a democracy only in the 20th century. Before that the country was divided into provinces and kingdoms ruled by Kings. A Rajguru was appointed in each kingdom to give him advices, a minister to assist the king in implementing rules and regulations, a military or police general and force to keep the boundaries of the country and implementing law and order,

Astro-Vision Futuretech Pvt. Ltd.2010  Delete cookies set by this site | Top   
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});